NOT my goal. Can you say overkill?

Before Christmas, Junkii got us back into a routine that incorporated a free-weight workout. For years, we had both been relying on group fitness classes for all our exercise needs. And while GroupEx is always fun (and good for cardio health), the weight classes don’t really result in any significant muscle gain. Toning? Yes. Bulk? No.

It was just one day a week, but at least it was a step in the right direction in terms of building muscle.

Since returning from Asia, I’ve made a concerted effort to add a second weight workout – during Monday lunch break – and while I’m far from bulky, I am starting to see the benefits.

Provided I’ve managed to get a locker where I can see myself in the mirror, one of the biggest incentives to maintaining this routine (aside from the eye candy at the gym) is the moment just after the workout, when I change back into work clothes. I’m not vain enough (or big enough) to actually stand in front of the mirror and admire myself – like some of the muscle boys – so if I don’t get a spot near the mirror, I’m out of luck. But it really is motivating to see myself when my muscles are all pumped up.

Of course, by the time I get home, my muscles have all deflated and it’s back to flabby me. But at least I can see progress at that critical moment when I’m naked and vulnerable, and that’s enough to keep me driven for now.

4 responses »

  1. Robert says:

    What? You didn’t post before and after locker room pics of yourself….Ron could this all be in your head! (Hee hee). But I admire your bravery in share this insight on physical self improvement. Now I will have to add the mirror glance to my post-workout routine

    • RoC(k)r says:

      It certainly COULD all be in my head, but since that’s where it needs to be in order to keep me motivated, I’m okay with that. Just so long as no one tells me otherwise 🙂

  2. Rick says:

    Wow! Who is that guy in the pic? He’s huge!

Leave a Reply

