I can’t stay ahead of the game. Every time I acquire a new pair of sunglasses, I lose a pair. It’s like a curse. (True, it’s not an especially interesting curse – I don’t see Sam Raimi making a movie about it – but it’s a curse nonetheless.)

I usually try to keep two pairs of sunglasses on-hand – one set fashionable, for use with more formal attire, and one set sporty, for use on the tennis court or while commuting on my bike. But it’s rare that I actually have two in my possession.

Why? Well, it’s my own fault, mostly. I’ve lost count of the number glasses I’ve broken – either because I dropped’em, crushed’em, or smooshed’em (usually while going in for a hug when they’re dangling from my shirt collar). And of course, there are the glasses I’ve left behind – in hotels, restaurants, airplanes….

But it’s rare my glasses have actually been stolen. And yet that’s precisely what happened on Friday, when I also lost my bath robe.

oooooooOOOOOoooo…a mystery.

No…nothing so sinister. We went to the spa on Friday after work, and I had my white bathrobe with me – the same colour as all the other bathrobes ever manufactured, apparently. And I had left my sunglasses in the pocket of the robe, hung on a hook, as I went in for a steam. When I emerged, my robe was gone. Someone had grabbed the wrong robe (damn white robes!)…and my glasses along with it!

Thankfully, they had left behind a decent robe that fit me. Don’t you judge me. What was I supposed to do? The person who took my robe likely wouldn’t realize it until much later. Was I supposed to wait there until they made the connection (if they ever did)? Was I supposed to make a sign and wander around the spa asking people to check their pockets for my sunglasses? The likelihood that the culprit would even know where to go if they DID find my glasses was slim to none. So I cut my losses and took their robe. At least, I suspect it was their robe.

So I didn’t come away completely empty handed, but it still left me without sunglasses for the rest of the day. That would have been fine, except I had just come from an appointment with an eye doctor, and my pupils were dilated. The sunglasses would have been welcome, but squinting was my only option. So squint I did, until I could get home to collect my sporty glasses.

Guess I’ll need to go sunglasses shopping again and prepare to start the cycle all over. Sunrise, sunset.

3 responses »

  1. Junkii says:

    How nice of your to omit that I like those sunglasses, because there were mine!

  2. I’m like you, always losing or damaging them. So I have a rule that I never pay more than $10 for a pair. My dad tried to give me a pair recently that he paid $100 back in the day but I refused because I knew I couldn’t be trusted with such expensive lenses. Thank goodness we don’t have to wear prescription glasses!

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Didn’t you lose a pair in Africa? I remember you guys had to go pick up a pair for me at our house before you came to meet us…I had forgotten them at home!

Leave a Reply

