Joy...with scarves!

Last fall, I wrote a post about the statue Joy, on display in downtown Ottawa, very near my office. I explained that the figures look to me like they’re dancing around in the warm summer rain.

Of course, in the dead of winter, when they’re covered in snow, it’s hard to maintain the illusion, but now that the snow is melted and the grass has turned green, the statue feels vibrant again.

But it’s been a bit chilly this week. In fact, we’re all starting to get grumped out about it, so I’d like to thank the person who took the time to clothe the naked figures of this statue. You made me very happy when I arrived at work this morning, welcomed by this sight: the statues had acquired hats and scarves.

One might assume it would make me feel further depressed by the rotten weather, but it had the opposite effect on me. It made me recall my usual thoughts about the statue and I started to think about the warm summer days to come.

3 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Very very awesome……love it

  2. That is pretty smile-inducing 🙂

Leave a Reply

