The cake form last year’s birthday. This year, there was no cake…just waaaaay too much food!

I’m not promising photos for this one – Junkii had his camera out, but our drunk friends (and ourselves, yes) are entitled to some privacy. Suffice it to say I had a blast celebrating my 40th on the weekend.

I’m fortunate. It’s truly humbling to have so many genuine friends; too many to invite, in fact. So, if you didn’t get an invitation, I’m truly sorry. We tried to keep this bash a little smaller than our (mostly) annual Halloween party. Even so, we did manage to cram 34 people into our house – incidentally, also the number that reflects the age I FEEL (rather than the age I actually am).

Feeling younger than my age is something I’ve always done – and hope I can continue to do for years to come! When I turned 18, I certainly didn’t feel like an adult. When I turned 25 I felt 18. When I turned 30, I still felt 25. And now at 40, I feel like I’m in my mid-30s.

Maybe it’s the company I keep – more than half of the 34 were under 40, some as young as their late 20s! – or maybe it’s my gym routine and (mostly) healthy eating. Whatever it is, I’m doing something right – both in terms of how I treat myself and how I treat others. Why else would so many fabulous people hang out with me until after 2 a.m.?!

I can’t express just how much you all mean to me. Birthday Hugs to you all! ^.^

Leave a Reply

