Click here to find out more. There’s also a good deal to Amsterdam.

We generally know well in advance where we’re headed in terms of upcoming vacations. Right now, our next big adventure is supposed to be in Hawaii, this winter. And that will be followed by holiday in Brazil the following year (oh that’s gonna be a blast!)

I’ve even started reading my Hawaii 2012 guidebook, getting increasingly excited about the prospect of two weeks of sun, tropical breezes and sunny beaches. Or maybe even three weeks if we can find a way to tack on a side trip to Fiji (and you can bet your ass I’m trying desperately to find a way!!)

And then Brazil…well…if Fiji is on my top-10-countries-to-visit list, Brazil is number one! So yeah, I’m looking forward to all of this.

And then KLM airlines had to go and muck everything up!

KLM is offering 50% off its fare from Ottawa to Istanbul (for travel between Travel Oct 16-Dec 14 & Dec 25-May 6). “How dare they??!” I can hear you saying. “The nerve!”

Yes, it’s ridiculously generous (tix cost just $700!)… How is that not one of the best deals I’ve ever seen?! Plus Istanbul is also pretty high up on the top 10 list (I really should finalize that list, at some point).

So what’s the problem? Well, let me tell you:

  • Junkii is away, which means I can’t discuss this with him (and I can’t very well make this decision on my own). This is opportunity is going to pass before he gets home on Friday night (the sale is only on for two days…and today is the last day.)
  • Our trip to Hawaii also involves other people, so changing those plans would require further consultation…with people who have already been to Turkey (lucky bastards!)
  • I don’t have enough holiday time to do everything (let alone enough money…who suggested I work for a non-profit, anyway?? I LOVE profit. Grrrr.)

Frankly, at this point, I’m wishing no one had told me about this. What’s so hard about keeping your mouths shut, Facebook “friends”? (Oh…I don’t blame you. Not really.)

At least I can take solace in the fact that the flight goes through NYC and requires switching airports. Who wants to spend extra time in NYC, I ask you? 😛

Anyway. I’m sure once I get to the beaches of Maui and Kawa’i I’ll be fine. Until then, just don’t mention Turkey to me. Deal?

7 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Chances are this inst a once in a lifetime opportunity……changes are they will do something like this again…….you will eventually get to Constantinople……even if you do go through New Amsterdam

  2. Turkey is on our list of places to visit. We looked into it I think the year we went to Costa Rica but it turns out that Turkey is cold when it’s cold here so it wouldn’t have been the nice hot vacation we were craving. So let that be a consolation to you! It would have been cold during those dates anyway 🙂

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Probably if we had gone in October or in April/May it would have been just fine…but thanks for trying to cheer me up. At least Nigel and Jeff get to go!

  3. dderbydave says:

    The blue mosque is meant to worth a visit. Stick Turkey on your bucket list, it’s not going anywhere 🙂

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Having played the video game series “Assassin’s Creed” which puts a lot of effort into recreating the cities where it takes place (Jerusalem, Rome, Istanbul) I’m very keen to go to these places – and Istanbul seemed especially interesting in the game. It’s higher on my list than the others – but yeah, It’ll be there when I’m ready, as long as the political situation allows for travel.

Leave a Reply

