Plenty of meat for everyone! Even for vegetarians.

Time was, I could eat a full rack of ribs every night at Ottawa Ribfest – that’s a total of five full racks if you’re keeping track – and still have room for a little pulled pork!

Well, over the years, I’ve managed to cut back – first dropping down to the half-rack meal and now, this year, down to the 1/3 rack. Plus Junkii and I split a pulled pork sandwich, so I don’t even get the whole thing to myself.

But that’s good, right? It’s healthier? Given how much effort I put into taking off those extra pounds a couple of years ago, it’s probably for the best anyway. I’m 40 now, and the fat likes to hang on more than it likes to leave. But I can’t bring myself to give up ribfest altogether. Nor do I really want to. It’s so yummy.

I certainly have incentive to give it up. Many of my work colleagues are vegetarians and vegans. And try though I might all week, it’s just been impossible to convince them of how delicious it smells outside our office doors! That wafting smell of grilled meat, smoke, and sweet sweet BBQ sauce? To die for, right?! Not according to half the staff here. They just turn up their noses, leaving me feeling ostracized for having the gall to eat a poor helpless animal.

Thank goodness I still have loads of friends outside of work who enjoy a hearty plate of ribs as much as I do, and who have no moral qualms. In fact, their lack of morals is probably why they’re such good friends to begin with. Heathens.

Now, off to the gym to make room for tonight’s feast.

2 responses »

  1. dderbydave says:

    Food snobbery annoys me. I’ve always had a broad palate and encourage my kids to try try try. Even if it’s just a forkful from Dad’s plate.
    No qualms about eating meat. We have the canines in our mouths and the digestive systems to cope with meat so why leave it out of our diets? I do tend to limit myself to one piece of meat and steer clear of red meat most of the time. But meat is good.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      I think it’s awesome that you encourage your kids to try – there’s so much food out there. I think if I were a parent, i wouldn’t let my kids away with turning their noses up. Of course, that’s all theoretical 🙂

Leave a Reply

