I get it without the whip cream – because, well, THAT will just make me fat. 😛

My friend Steve pointed out recently that I tend to decide I don’t like something – a song, a film, a new menu item – before eventually changing my opinion upon closer inspection. I call it open-mindedness, and I think it’s a good thing (although I had initially considered it a shortcoming.)

Let me be clear: this pattern is NOT true about coffee. I formed my opinions about the bitter disgustingness that is “a hot cuppa joe” only after having tried it repeatedly. I’ve made sporadic attempts throughout the years to develop a taste for it, always with the same result… until now.

Okay, in fairness, I still don’t like black coffee. What I like is a specific coffee drink from Starbucks called a Caffé Vanilla Frappuccino. It tastes like heaven, and I’m in love.

Perhaps it’s contradictory, but while I hate straight-up coffee, I love it in desserts. Coffee makes chocolate sing, and coffee ice cream is probably my favorite ice cream (even more than chocolate, which, if you know me, is just weird.) The caffé vanilla frap tastes almost exactly like coffee ice cream.

I only discovered it because Starbucks was handing out free samples. I didn’t expect to like it, but I was delighted! Now I have something to order at Starbucks aside from tea. Of course, it’s full of cream and fat – so I’ll have to limit my intake. What’s the harm in one a week?

3 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Have you tried a Vanilla Bean Frap at Starbucks? No coffee in it but its delish….and you should branch out a bit- as you like caramel…..try a caramel machiatto (with whip)……its hot and delish- ask for extra caramel and you wont be disappointed…..for me, I discovered the cafe americano. Its no where near as strong and bitter as starbuck’s other coffees. Glad you found something you love.

Leave a Reply

