Sharing a cocktail at Olive Lounge in Genting Highlands, 2012.

Usually life is good, but sometimes it deals you unexpected blows. Still other times, it can take you out at the knees.

That’s what happened late Thursday evening (Eastern time). Junkii got a call from Malaysia with news that actually physically knocked him backward: his youngest brother, Chuan, was killed in a motorcycle accident.

As if we needed further proof that god is a figment. Chuan was only 24 years old. Just finishing university. Just starting his life.

We don’t have a lot of detail – we’ve been told he was headed to work on a motorcycle when the accident happened – but whatever the details, the result is still the same. A wonderful human being – a brother, a son – is no longer with us.

Junkii is now headed for home to be with his family. The funeral is Sunday, but he won’t get there until Monday morning. At least he’ll have some time to spend with his parents and siblings. I’m sure being home will help Junkii deal with his own grief, and hopefully help the entire family heal.

I wish I could be there as well. After several trips to Malaysia, I’ve come to feel part of this family – and Chuan has been a big part of that. I don’t speak Cantonese, but he always engaged with me in his broken English, and he always looped me into any activities that were going on. I’ll miss his laughter and his easy-going take on life. I’ll miss his friendship, but I feel richer for having known him. And I’m sorry I can’t be there to share that with the family.

But they’ll have each other, which is more important now.

And Junkii has you, his friends and family. Over the last 24 hours, he’s been focused on getting things in order before his flight, but once he comes back, he’ll be relying on your support and love for the next little while. We’re lucky to have such a wonderful community surrounding us – because when the unexpected blows come, we need people we can rely on. Thank you.

6 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Love him….love you…..

  2. Alexa Clark says:

    Thank you for updating us. I saw this on faceook and hoped I was misreading.
    This is horrible news and we are sending all our love, strength and energy to Mel and his family.
    Much love and hugs to you both!

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Thanks Lex and Ger. Junkii wants everyone to know he appreciates the outpouring of sympathy. Glad I could help to clarify a subject that is understandably hard for him to discuss right now. Much love.

  3. Lillian Holowka says:

    Ron, my deepest sympathy goes out to Melvin. I really love you guys. I know I haven’t be in touch with you and Melvin for a long time but it is through no fault of my own. You are always in my thoughts and prayers. It is no secret that I had breast cancer and lymphedema because I reported to everyone in my notes to most of the staff at USC. I have been thrown a blow also that kept me incapacitated for quite some time. Please, I don’t want any one to know but they discovered 3 brain tumors that were malignant. I will in my own time report on this to USC. Awegechew, was a great support. Telephoning me at least twice a week to see how I was and visiting me at the hospital. It is a long story and I had the best neurosurgeon who performed the surgery (I was awake all through the surgery). The tumor that the best surgeon took out was 4cm big. Another surgeon used the CyberKnife for the 2 smaller tumors where he did not have to use any scalpel. It is an innovative robotic instrument that no one is in the room and they zapped the 2 smaller malignant tumors. The Cyberknife is very powerful. The Ottawa General Hospital is the only one with this CyberKnife instrument. I am afraid I have gone on too long. Melvin will need support to grieve. Lots of love to both you and Melvin.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Lillian. first, thank you for the sympathy. Second, I had no idea! I’m so sorry to hear this news. I sincerely hope that your having the strength to write here means you’re on the mend. I will call you shortly. Much love!

Leave a Reply

