We have a whole case of these in the office. And they're fricken' delicious!

We have a whole case of these in the office. And they’re fricken’ delicious!

My efforts at weight loss tend to come in waves, and I’ve been involved long enough to have recognized some patterns. One of the most obvious is very relevant to my state of mind this afternoon: chocolate withdrawal.

Any dieting effort is usually preceded by a steady loss of control over consumption. And as the tightness in my waistband increases, I eat more – knowing that the inevitable restrictions are about to be (self) imposed. It’s like my body senses that my brain is about to catch it with its hand quite literally in the cookie jar and, knowing the food supply is about to be cut off, by body splurges.

One of my big splurge foods is chocolate.

Earlier this week, my brain caught up and I decided it was time to get back on the Weight Watchers’ wagon (or at least the portion control wagon) and to cut back on unhealthy snacking. No more chocolate.

And here I sit this afternoon, staring at my computer screen, not able to concentrate because all I can think about is how delicious a chocolate bar would be. And knowing also that we have a whole case of them in the office. And trying to maintain some modicum of self control.

Where’s my gum?!

3 responses »

  1. Lillian Holowka says:

    Ron I left you a “flophouse” message, but I’m not sure you received it. The craving for your chocolate fix will pass. I am not suggesting you get brain surgery but after my surgery all kinds of chocolate made me sick. Still does.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      In that case, I hope I ever have to have surgery. Choco is one of my favorite things. It’s a love hate relationship because of what it does to my waistline, but I’d still miss it terribly if I couldn’t eat it anymore.

  2. cjottawa says:

    I started using an app recently: “MyFitnessPal”. It tracks both food and exercise. Free too. Give it a look. I’ve found it very useful as a calorie conscience. If I snack in the morning and afternoon, I know from the calorie counter I won’t be able to go out to AYCE sushi or have that heavy holiday dessert in the evening.

Leave a Reply

