Such a small thing, but so necessary!

Such a small thing, but so necessary!


Ever get to the gym and realize you’ve forgotten your socks? It’s a dilemma, because you know you have only a few options.

  • OPTION A: You can pack it in right there and use your absent-mindedness as an excuse to skip your workout. (Depending on your mood, this is likely your best option!)
  • OPTION B: You can wear your full-length everyday socks (as opposed to the ankle socks you intended to bring) and risk being mocked for a fashion faux-pas.
  • OPTION C: You can run to the nearest store to buy a pair of socks, assuming you have enough time, and assuming your gym is located in a mall.
  • OPTION D: You can ask someone to borrow a pair. Admittedly, this is probably easier if you have a friend. Asking a stranger for socks might get you punched in the men’s locker room.
  • OPTION E: You can go completely sockless; but, while rationally you know this is a viable option, you also know that it’s going to get slimy and gross inside your shoe once you start to sweat. Gross.

Lots of options, but what happens when you only bring one sock?

I was faced with this dilemma on Tuesday evening. I got to the gym, set up my step in the fitness studio, threw my hand towel down to mark my place, and went to the change room to get ready.

And just as I sat down to put on my socks and shoes, I realized I could only find one sock in my bag! Ugh! I was facing a conundrum.

Right away I eliminated option B. No way was I gonna put on full-length black socks at a downtown gym. MAYBE if I had been in the suburbs.

And it had already been a week since my last workout (for reasons that have also resulted in a dip in recent blog posts), so I didn’t really want to skip. I discarded option A.

I had no time to get to a clothing store, and none of my friends were with me. That left me with only Option E (modified, however. There was no need to go completely sockless! I could minimize my squishy-foot experience by using the one sock that I had.)

I bit the bullet and pulled my shoe over my naked foot and went back to the gym to complain to my instructor-friend, J.

She mocked me.

Then again, knowing her, I’m not really sure I should have expected anything else.

In the end, I had the last laugh though (at myself). I turned back to my step, ready to start the class, and there, under the towel I threw down to mark my place, was my missing sock.

Huzzah! Crisis averted.

Hmmm. Maybe I need to keep a spare pair of socks in my gym bag. Just in case.

3 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Im pretty sure I would have just worn the less fashionable option…….you’re so vain! I bet you think this post is about you don’t you?

    • RoC(k)r says:

      I am vain, but I’m also held to a higher standard. The gays at the downtown club would have my badge!!

      • jandjsmum says:

        Oh and you dont think that these snooty stay at home soccer mom’s dont think that I am homeless? How can SHE afford a gym membership- hmmmmph! Ill take the gays any day 🙂

Leave a Reply

