Blog2

I miss blogging.

Oh, I know I’m still writing about the last few adventures we’ve taken, posting those stories over at safari.wordpress.com – but I miss writing my all-purpose blog. My not-specific-to-travel blog.

I just took a quick glance over the last year of posts. I only made about 10 entries. For someone who considers himself a writer – and who used to produce closer to 100 entries a year – that’s a considerable drop.

It’s sad because, when I look back at my blog in the coming years, this lack of activity will mean some of my fondest memories of 2014/15 will be entirely forgotten; parties, gatherings, day trips and good times that I never recorded, all lost to the mists of time. And not just for me, but also for my friends and family who (so I’m led to believe) enjoy reading the yarns I spin about what’s going on in my life.

It’s my own damned fault, but I do have a partial excuse: work is also to blame. This plunge in posting started in March 2014 – coinciding with a switch of employers.

At my previous job, I had been in my position long enough that the work had become second nature. For years, I was able to do that job with my eyes closed. After 15 years, you learn to work quickly, and that proficiency (along with a sometimes lighter workload than I’m facing now) meant I could find pockets of time throughout the week to write quick blog entries and still have more than enough time to get my work done.

With my new job, the days are so busy that there’s barely time to even THINK about personal matters, let alone spend time writing about them. So journaling is necessarily kept to evenings. But even there, my job works against me.

I write a lot at work – it’s the nature of communications work. But I write more now than I ever did in my last job. Considerably more. Sometimes the entire day is spent crafting news releases and speaking notes. In fact, it’s one of the things I love about my new job, but when I get home at night, usually the last thing I want to do is sit at a keyboard and write another story.

And even if I did want to, my mind is often too tired to focus on figuring out what the narrative should be. So I just veg on the couch instead, and blog entries go unwritten as memories risk being forgotten.

The thing is, I credit the strength of my writing skills – skills that serve me so well in my job – directly to the years of practice I’ve spent on this blog, crafting short articles. The subject matter of the blog is personal, but the writing principles needed to convey a narrative arc are completely transferrable to the writing I do for work.

For all these reasons – Developing my writing skills, recording fond memories (or ranting about stupid people), sharing my life with loved ones – I have really missed blogging. And as I sit here today, I’ve convinced myself that I need to make an effort to write at least a couple of posts a week.

Who knows if that will be feasible? Guess we’ll find out soon enough.

4 responses »

  1. dderbydave says:

    It’s hard. I worked out my “daily” blog is actually about once a week and they cluster, so I’ll write three or four then leave it for a while.
    Thing is I don’t like to read or write opinionated blogs and that for me would be the temptation if I forced myself to write every day. Life does tend to get in the way so even if there is stuff to write about I’m usually too involved or too knackered to scribe.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      I prefer to write something with a bit of opinion to it – rather than just show-and-tell kind of posts. Your blog – and your commitment to it – have long been an inspiration for me, Dave.

  2. jandjsmum says:

    Its sort of ironic that you started, because about a week ago, I decided to start again too- but I just got around to adding my first post back today. We are on the same wavelength me thinks.

Leave a Reply

