Earworm Wednesday

I grew up with Duran Duran. My sister loved them, so I hated them.

Okay, maybe hate is too strong a word… but they certainly weren’t my favourite.

But when you’re inundated with their music every day, even coming through your sibling’s bedroom door, it starts to creep into your brain. And eventually, after I grew up, I came to realize I quite liked their early music. I didn’t know if it was because my tastes had changed or if it was just nostalgia, but in my university years, I decided I liked that old ’80s New Wave sound.

Well, Duran Duran never went away. They’ve been steadily releasing albums over the past three decades, trying to change with the times and adapting their sound to the latest pop trends. I recently did a scan of all their albums and while the stuff they released in the ’90s sounds pretty dated (and not very interesting) their newer stuff is pretty catchy.

I really like their latest album, Paper Gods, and in fact I’m even going to see them (for the first time) when they come to Ottawa Bluesfest this year!

My earworm today is from that latest album – a song that feels like a blend of an ’80s sound and current electronic dance music. It definitely feels current, to me anyway.

What’s in your ear today?

Leave a Reply

