Pointing out the two limbs that got severed.

Pointing out the two limbs that got severed.

I spent a beautiful Sunday afternoon on my patio this week, just enjoying a warm summer day, the refreshing breeze and my flourishing garden. But an enjoyable afternoon quickly turned to slaughter as the breeze picked up.

My umbrella, which had been so protective, shielding me from harmful UV rays, went careening, scythe-like, toward my hydrangea plant!

I leaped to the rescue, but it was too late. The damage had been done.

The hydrangea is the most expensive thing in my garden. It’s special because it has been grafted onto a short tree trunk, and it gives my small garden more levels, adding variety. And while I was worried earlier in the season that this perennial was not going to come back, it’s now growing really well.

Until the umbrella-scythe fell, that is.

The umbrella severed a couple of branches enough that I had to cut them off and discard them, leaving my plant looking lopsided.

I know time will allow it to grow back, but it certainly wasn’t ready for such a serious pruning just yet!

Guess in the future I’m gonna have to tie the umbrella to a fence post with some framing wire. It already has a pretty heavy base, but apparently not heavy enough – and I’m not ready to bolt it down to the deck. That’s a little too permanent, and I like having the flexibility to move it around as the sun moves across the sky.

My, how quickly a mood can turn. 😡

The right side of the plant is now a lot more sparse. I suppose some of the plants below it are getting a bit more light, so there is an upside.

The right side of the plant is now a lot more sparse. I suppose some of the plants below it are getting a bit more light, so there is an upside.

And if I am choosing to focus on the positive, my impatients are doing wonderfully well.

And if I am choosing to focus on the positive, my impatients are doing wonderfully well.

Leave a Reply

