I even brought my resistance band to do some core training.

I rent a cottage for a week every summer with my friends G&C – and usually I try to incorporate a daily cardio workout as part of that time, just so that, upon return to my regular workout routine the following week, I don’t suffer too much to get back in shape.
The cottage workout has the added bonus of making me hot and sweaty, which is the perfect condition in which to cannonball into the lake and wash away the workout – but that’s beside the point. 

Anyway, this time, I seem to have suffered an injury issue to my hamstring that’s causing me flexibility issues. While playing capture the flag with my nephews on Friday, I developed a charley horse – not severe but persistent. I have, quite literally, been hamstrung.

My flexibility at the best of times is pretty crap, but this problem has been impeding my ability to workout. I already missed my first two days of cardio!

The issue seems to be slowly resolving itself – with careful stretching and targeted massage – and it looks like I might be able to get in a workout today. Sadly, the weather isn’t cooperating. There’s enough space to the workout indoors, but with the rain, I would be less keen for the post-workout dip. 

The universe conspires against me.

Still, my goal, as always, is to swim at least once every day, so I might have to suck it up and take the plunge. And getting overheated before I do so, is probably the best approach.

Leave a Reply

