636023645617254130165204595_allowanceMy mother has long maintained that she always insisted her kids be treated equally. So for Christmases or birthdays, Mom would always spend the exact same amount on each of us. It was her way of showing that she wouldn’t play favourites with her love for her kids.

Well, I call b*llsh!t.

I have recently remembered (after years of suppressed memory therapy and psychoanalysis) that my weekly allowance was THREE WHOLE DOLLARS per week less than my sister’s.

Cheryll got $10 a week and I got just $7. How is that fair, mother?! Over the course of my youth, that difference added up!

Perhaps, dear reader, you are ready to dismiss my claims out of consideration for the fact that I was the younger sibling. If you assume I had to perform fewer (or easier) chores to earn my keep, think again.

As I recall, we both had to make our beds every day, but there the similarities stopped.

My sister had to:

  • Empty the dishwasher daily
  • Set the table every day for dinner

I had to:

  • Clean the cat’s litter box (you see, right there, that’s not equal work!)
  • Mow the lawn once a week on the not inconsiderable public property beside our house (a task that took about 20-30 minutes)
  • Replace the milk bag with a new one any time the container was empty (okay, that’s not a particularly onerous task, but in a family of four, it was disruptive at dinner time)

And they say that women are not paid as well as men. Well, that’s not my experience!

Actually, come to think of it, the pay scale likely had more to do with age. I did get a raise to $10 a few yeas later (even if I also had to start washing the car). So maybe mom didn’t have a preference for her kids.

Maybe she was just ageist.

Tsk tsk, mother. <shakes head>

2 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Your father made up for it by giving you a car. 🙂

Leave a Reply

