call-itnoise-i-m-living-a-noisylife-so-are-many-of-the-people-yulo7q-clipart

How effective are noise-cancelling headphones, anyway?

Junkii has been teaching group fitness for a few years now. Because of that, I’ve come to expect that, as he reviews old tracks or learns new choreography, he also needs to play the music that comes along with it.

Sometimes that can be okay. The music for his CXWorks class (a core training class) is pretty decent as far as electronica goes.

Even the music for his BodyStep (a step-aerobics class), can be okay. For the most part, that music is far from great – and generally the original pop versions of the songs they use are WAAAAY better than the remixes – but the music is pretty inoffensive.

Or maybe it’s just familiar. After all, I’ve been going to BodyStep classes for years, so I’m well acquainted with the soundtrack.

But now Junkii is teaching BodyAttack – a much faster-paced cardio workout that uses pop songs remixed to within an inch of their life. For example:

These remixes are so much worse than the music in any of the other group fitness classes I’ve been to. Surely the people that choreograph this program can find a better way to bring up the BPM – there must be more talented DJs than the ones they’re using.

I’m sure it’s possible that people enjoy this music in a class setting, when the fast beats and cheezy synth sounds might spur a participant to kick higher and run faster. But beyond that, these remixes are just dreadful, lacking any musical merit.

And now I’m stuck having to hear this music on a regular basis. It’s making me angry, because I can’t tune it out.

When Junkii plays this music, I can’t listen to my own because the heavy beats just bleed through. That’s fine if I want to listen to something bigger, but it doesn’t work when I’m trying to hear the subtleties of a piano sonata.

I think I’m going to have to work out a deal with Junkii that we both have to use headphones. Otherwise, I can see a point when I march in and rip his speakers out.

Gonna have to find a solution before that happens.

2 responses »

  1. dderbydave says:

    funny you should mention this as only the other day I was talking to a customer about the pop hits they play on our supermarket radio and the reason they’re chosen. Apparently, the music is tailored to the shoppers and the time of day in that slow beats encourage browsing and fast beats encourage hurried shopping and impulse buying.
    I get agitated when I hear upbeat music so must be very susceptible to this input. Unfortunately, although it’s all by the original artists, most of it’s pretty dire.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      I can see that. I think most overhead shopping music tends to be 80s music too…not really sure why that is. Or maybe I only register it when it’s 80s because that music is so ingrained in my brain.

Leave a Reply

