I’ve been blogging for 10 years!! Well, more than 10 actually… I think I started in 2006 – on the now-defunct Vox platform.

Thankfully, when Vox folded a couple of years after I started blogging, they were considerate enough to walk their users through the process of transferring all existing posts to one of several different (but stable) platforms. I chose a WordPress account, and I’ve been here ever since.

After that initial transfer of old posts, I never really went back to look at how the transfer went down. Yes, I took a cursory look and, while there was plenty of extra source code in the background, the front end looked okay, so I just assumed everything was fine and went on my merry way, writing new posts.

Well, in recent months, I’ve gone back to look at my old writing. After all, what’s the point in writing a blog if you never go re-read your work? In doing that review, I’ve noticed the import wasn’t quite as clean as I would have liked. So I’ve been methodically going through the old posts to clean them up, fixing broken links, replacing missing images and cleaning up any typos.

At the same time, I’ve been assessing my old writing style. I think I’ve gotten a lot better at blogging. I’ve generally learned better how to tell a story. And as I fix old posts, I’m doing some minor revision to help make the posts more interesting.

Taking the time to fix the oldest posts on my blog has also meant taking time away from writing new ones. There are only so many hours in the day!

Even on days when I WANT to write something new, I find it can be hard to motivate myself to craft a post. The bulk of my workday already involves writing communications materials. Often the last thing I want to do when I’m relaxing at home is to sit by myself and write another blog post.

But when I get out of the habit of writing on a daily basis, it can be tough to get myself back into it. When I write daily, I find it easy to keep writing. But if I skip a few days, that period of inactivity can easily stretch into weeks or months of silence.

Thankfully, I’ve just had a week of “me” time at a cottage. I’ve used that time to get back into the habit of writing. I’ve got lots of posts already in the hopper and ready to post.

I’m starting on my second decade. Hope you’ll continue to read along. You’re a big part of what inspires me to write in the first place.

2 responses »

  1. Marina says:

    I’ve missed your blogs!! Keep going…we’ll keep reading.

Leave a Reply

