Hidden in Plain Sight

I can't find the name of the sculpture or the artist. Sorry.

I can’t find the name of the sculpture or the artist. Sorry.

On O’Connor Street, Between Laurier Avenue and Gloucester Street, this sculpture is a bit of a mystery to me. I couldn’t find a plaque or any artist info. And a Google search came up blank.

So I’m left with just my own impressions. That got me thinking… is that the best way to appreciate art?

If someone has to tell you what to feel, then I suppose that does take away from the impact a piece might have. But that’s not always the case. If there’s a narrative in a complex film, for example, that I don’t grasp, then a simple explanation of the director’s intent (an opaque director, like David Lynch for example) can really help me to appreciate and understand the work. Otherwise, I stand there confused and my opinion is automatically negative.

Confusion is not your friend when you’re trying to appreciate Art. When it’s abstract, I suppose visual art is a little bit different. There’s generally less of a narrative that needs explaining with sculpture, but an artist’s intent can be edifying.

Without a sort descriptor, this piece as never spoken to me. I feel like it’s mimicking some sort of First Nations artwork – a totem pole or and inukshuk, something along those lines. It’s not offensive, but it also isn’t particularly pleasing. At least to me.

MAYBE there’s some deeper meaning that I’m not getting that could help me appreciate it more, but I’m doubtful. Either way, I’ll never know since the installation has declined to provide any context.

Hmmm… maybe the plaque was inside the building. I might have to pop in next time I’m in the area, just to be sure.

IMG_0071

IMG_0070

IMG_0068

IMG_0069

2 thoughts on “Hidden in Plain Sight

  1. This is my preferred way to appreciate art. But I admit, I’m distinctly atypical in my family. They all want the data, insight and guidance that extra info provides.

    1. I think a statement can be valuable if it adds to understanding about the specific piece, but all too often those blurbs are just random, generic and way too flowery.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.